|
|
#1
|
|||
|
|||
|
http://www.blackmesaresearch.com ?
Anyone know anything about this site?
http://www.blackmesaresearch.com requires a username/password to enter. EDIT: Nothing to be excited about, this is viral marketing by Black Mesa: Source ...that's right, a mod doing viral marketing instead of releasing gameplay videos Last edited by Ennui; 01-08-2008 at 09:49 PM. |
|
#2
|
||||
|
||||
|
Doing a whois search shows it's not owned by Valve, so it seems to be completely unrelated.
http://www.whois.net/whois_new.cgi?d...search&tld=com |
|
#3
|
|||
|
|||
|
According to who.is:
Domain Name: blackmesaresearch.com Status: clientTransferProhibited Registrar: MELBOURNE IT, LTD. D/B/A INTERNET NAMES WORLDWIDE Whois Server: whois.melbourneit.com Referral URL: http://www.melbourneit.com Expiration Date: 2010-05-12 Creation Date: 2008-05-12 Last Update Date: 2008-06-02 Name Servers: yns1.yahoo.com yns2.yahoo.com |
|
#4
|
|||
|
|||
|
hmm, most likely domain name camping in hope of a big price for the name, like aperturescience.com
oh well. |
|
#6
|
||||
|
||||
|
On a random note I die a little inside when people see my Aperture desktop or mug and think I work for an actual boring company, totally not getting the awesome reference.
__________________
The Founding Fathers Spoiler:
|
|
#7
|
||||
|
||||
|
Oh man... That's awesome.
__________________
|
|
#8
|
||||
|
||||
|
It has updated...and is interesting...
|
|
#9
|
|||
|
|||
|
I wonder if it's official...meh, probably not.
Edit: Valve should do viral advertising for EP3. Last edited by Barnz; 30-07-2008 at 08:49 PM. |
|
#10
|
||||
|
||||
|
Just because the Whois doesn't point to Bellevue, WA doesn't mean it has nothing to do with Valve.
The fact that there's a "Remote Access" place to login makes it seem likely this is viral. Valve or not, we have a responsibility to check it out don't we? Now, if only I was good at this sort of thing.
__________________
Half-Life 2: Wars: The only HL universe RTS on the Source engine This is more than anyone can bear... but we will persevere! Ideas? Comments? Suggestions? Criticisms? Hate mail? PM me, let us know on the community forum or email us |
|
#11
|
||||
|
||||
|
I couldn't resist blogging about this! Someone must be able to figure it all out...
|
|
#12
|
||||
|
||||
|
When you click on the main image:
Quote:
![]() PS: Emailing inquiries@blackmesaresearch.com (linked to on the page) gets your email bounced back. I wrote an email from Gordon saying I lost my password and was recently hired as a Level 3 Research Associate in the Anomalous Materials Lab but alas.
__________________
Half-Life 2: Wars: The only HL universe RTS on the Source engine This is more than anyone can bear... but we will persevere! Ideas? Comments? Suggestions? Criticisms? Hate mail? PM me, let us know on the community forum or email us |
|
#13
|
|||
|
|||
|
|
|
#14
|
||||
|
||||
|
Very nice
|
|
#15
|
||||
|
||||
|
Oh, it's boring, just more ridiculous overhype from the Black Mesa modteam.
Click on the second "s" in "Remote Access"... it goes to the BM:S website.
__________________
Half-Life 2: Wars: The only HL universe RTS on the Source engine This is more than anyone can bear... but we will persevere! Ideas? Comments? Suggestions? Criticisms? Hate mail? PM me, let us know on the community forum or email us |
![]() |
| Thread Tools | |
|
|